Advancing Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights
 


Démystifier les données

Santé sexuelle et reproductive des jeunes sénégalaises

• Le Sénégal compte en 2014 environ 765 000 jeunes femmes âgées de 15 à 19 ans, soit 10% de la population féminine totale du pays.[1]

• Au Sénégal, peu de jeunes femmes recourent aux services officiels de santé sexuelle et reproductive; beaucoup semblent ne pas savoir avec certitude si elles sont autorisées à pratiquer la contraception avant 18 ans. Les jeunes femmes citent aussi les attitudes et les normes culturelles et religieuses qui censurent l’activité sexuelle prénuptiale parmi les raisons pour lesquelles elles ne cherchent pas à obtenir de services.[2]

• Un peu plus de la moitié (56%) des filles vont à l’école primaire ; cependant seulement 27% des jeunes femmes vont á l’école secondaire.

• L’accès aux médias varie largement parmi les jeunes femmes de 15 à 19 ans: 62% déclarent une exposition au moins hebdomadaire à la radio, 66% à la télévision et 16% à la presse écrite. L’exposition aux médias est généralement supérieure parmi les jeunes femmes des milieux urbains, par rapport aux milieux ruraux.

• Les jeunes femmes célibataires qui tombent enceintes subissent l’opprobre et la discrimination sociale; elles sont souvent rejetées par leurs parents et renvoyées de l’école.[2]

ACTIVITÉ SEXUELLE

• Près d’un tiers des sénégalaises de 15 à 19 ans déclarent avoir déjà eu des rapports sexuels.

• 34% des femmes de 18 à 24 ans déclarent avoir eu des rapports sexuels avant 18 ans; en milieu rural et dans le quintile de richesse le plus pauvre, ces proportions sont nettement supérieures, se mesurant à 48% et 66%, respectivement.

• Une jeune femme de 15 à 19 ans sur quatre a déjà été mariée; la proportion est largement supérieure dans les plus pauvres (52%).

ACCÈS AUX SOINS DE SANTÉ REPRODUCTIVE

• 16% des jeunes femmes célibataires et sexuellement actives (ayant eu des rapports pendant les trois derniers mois), et 6% seulement de jeunes mariées, utilisent une méthode de contraception.

• Parmi les naissances récentes aux femmes qui avaient moins de 20 ans au moment de l’accouchement, 20% ont été non planifiées.

• Parmi les jeunes femmes sexuellement actives de 15 à 19 ans qui n’ont jamais été mariées, 77% présentent des besoins de contraception non satisfaits, parce qu’elles désirent éviter une grossesse durant les deux prochaines années mais n’utilisent aucune méthode contraceptive. Ces besoins de contraception non satisfaits atteignent des niveaux aussi élevés dans les milieux urbains que dans les milieux ruraux (80% et 74%, respectivement).

• Parmi les jeunes femmes mariées âgées de 15 à 19 ans, près du tiers ont des besoins de contraception non satisfaits; chez les mariées, la proportion qui ont des besoins non satisfaits est plus grande dans les milieux urbains que dans les milieux ruraux (41% par rapport à 27%).

• 75% des mères qui avaient moins de 20 ans au moment du dernier accouchement déclarent qui s’était passé en milieu médicalisé; une moindre proportion (65%) fait état d’une assistance professionnelle qualifiée.

CONNAISSANCES EN MATIÈRE DE SANTÉ SEXUELLE

• Les jeunes femmes âgées de 15 à 19 ans ont entendu parler, en moyenne, de trois méthodes modernes de contraception.

• Un cinquième des femmes de 15 à 24 ans—et un dixième seulement de celles des deux quintiles les plus pauvres— déclarent pouvoir se procurer elles-mêmes un préservatif.

• Si la plupart des sénégalaises savent que l’utilisation du préservatif et que n’avoir qu’un seul partenaire non infecté réduisent le risque de contraction du VIH, moins du tiers (29%) de celles âgées de 15 à 24 ans sont bien informées sur le VIH/sida (c’est-à-dire, elles sont au courant de ces deux méthodes de prévention, elles savent qu’une personne qui a l’air en bonne santé peut être séropositive et elles rejettent les deux idées fausses les plus répandues localement sur la transmission du VIH).


INÉGALITÉ DE GENRE ET NORMES SOCIALES

• Trois quarts des jeunes femmes de 15 à 19 ans (72%) estiment que si le mari a une IST, sa femme a raison de lui demander d’utiliser le préservatif.

• Cependant, 61% conviennent que le mari peut avoir raison de battre sa femme dans au moins une situation. De plus, 63% sont d’accord qu’une femme a le droit de refuser d’avoir des rapports sexuels si elle sait que son mari a une IST.

• Seulement 20% des femmes mariées âgées de 15 à 19 déclarent prendre les décisions seules ou conjointement avec leur mari en ce qui concerne leurs propres soins de santé.

ENVIRONNEMENT DES POLITIQUES

• La loi de 2005 sur la Santé de la reproduction reconnaît que le droit à la santé reproductive «est un droit fondamental et universel garanti à tout être humain sans discrimination fondée sur l’âge, le sexe, la fortune, la religion, la race, l’ethnie, la situation matrimoniale ou sur toute autre situation.»[2]

• Il n’existe aucune restriction légale à l’accès des jeunes à la contraception et à d’autres services de santé élémentaires, tels que les tests de grossesse et des IST, sauf la nécessité d’avoir au moins 15 ans pour consentir au test du VIH.[2]

• Le Code pénal du Sénégal indique que l’avortement provoqué n’est pas légal, même pour sauver la vie d’une femme, et impose de lourdes peines de prison et amendes. Beaucoup de jeunes femmes recourent cependant à l’avortement clandestin qui peut, souvent, compromettre leur santé.[2]

IMPLICATIONS EN MATIÈRE DE POLITIQUES ET PROGRAMMES

• Ces données indiquent qu’une importante proportion de jeunes femmes sénégalaises ont eu des rapports sexuels et présentent dès lors des besoins d’information et de services de santé sexuelle et reproductive.

• Les jeunes femmes des milieux ruraux et celles des ménages les plus pauvres ont le moins accès à l’information et aux services. Donc, elles sont les plus vulnérables aux grossesses non planifiées et aux IST. La priorité doit être accordée à ces groupes pour les atteindre avec des informations et services de santé sexuelle et reproductive.

• Les besoins de contraception non satisfaits sont très élevés chez les jeunes femmes célibataires. Des mesures doivent être prises pour s’occuper des facteurs profonds qui expliquent cette situation, c’est-à-dire, le manque de services de santé accessibles et abordables, la stigmatisation de l’activité sexuelle en dehors du mariage et le manque d’auto-détermination chez les jeunes femmes.

• Les données relatives aux attitudes des jeunes femmes concernant les droits sexuels et l’égalité de genre révèlent l’acceptation courante du rang inférieur et du traitement inégal de la femme. Un investissement accru doit être consenti à l’éducation et aux programmes en matière de la santé sexuelle et reproductive qui sont basés sur les droits.

• Beaucoup de jeunes femmes ne bénéficient vraisemblablement d’aucune éducation sexuelle à l’école: peu d’entre elles vont à l’école secondaire et sans doute peu d’établissements scolaires abordent le sujet.

• Les principaux intéressés se doivent d’adopter des stratégies efficaces—y compris l’éducation sexuelle à l’école et les forums hors école, tels que les programmes de sensibilisation communautaire et les campagnes médiatiques—qui apportent aux jeunes femmes l’information dont elles ont besoin pour protéger leur santé et leurs droits sexuels et reproductifs.



La majorité des données citées sont tirées de: Anderson R et al., Démystifier les données: guide pour utiliser les données disponibles afin d’améliorer la santé et les droits sexuels des jeunes, New York: Guttmacher Institute, 2013; et calculs spéciaux des données de l’Enquête démographique et de santé à indicateurs multiples 2010–2011 au Sénégal.





Ce document, et le guide qui a servi de base, ont été financés grâce à une subvention à la Fédération internationale pour la planification familiale (IPPF) du Ministère néerlandais des affaires étrangères, attribuée dans le cadre du programme «Choices and Opportunities Fund.»

RÉFÉRENCES

1. Département des affaires économiques et sociales des Nations Unies (ONU), World Population Prospects: The 2012 Revision, New York: ONU, 2013.

2. International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF) et Coram Children’s Legal Centre, Over-Protected and Under-Served: A Study on Legal Barriers to Young People’s Access to Sexual and Reproductive Health Services in Senegal, Londres: IPPF, 2014.

Advancing Sexual and Reproductive Health and Rights
 
Fact Sheet

Demystifying Data

Sexual and Reproductive Health of Young Women in Senegal

• There are approximately 765,000 women aged 15–19 living in Senegal in 2014; they account for 10% of the total female population.[1]

• Few young women in Senegal use formal sexual and reproductive health services, and many appear to be uncertain about whether they are allowed to use contraceptives before they turn 18. Young people also cite cultural and religious norms and attitudes censuring premarital sexual activity as reasons for not seeking services.[2]

• Just over half of girls attend primary school (56%). However, only 27% attend secondary school.

• Access to media varies greatly among young women: Sixty-two percent report at least weekly exposure to radio, 66% to television and 16% to newspapers. Media exposure is consistently higher for young women in urban environments than among those in rural areas.

• Young unmarried women who become pregnant experience social stigma and discrimination, and are often thrown out of their parents’ home and expelled from school.[2]

SEXUAL ACTIVITY

• Nearly one-third of Senegalese women aged 15–19 report having had sex.

• Thirty-four percent of women aged 18–24 report having had sex before age 18; among rural women and those in the lowest wealth quintile, this proportion is significantly higher, at 48% and 66%, respectively.

• One in four women aged 15–19 have been married; this proportion is much higher among young women in the poorest wealth quintile (52%).

ACCESS TO REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH CARE

• Only 16% of sexually active (had sex in past three months), never-married women aged 15–19, and just 6% of those who are married, use any method of contraception.

• Twenty percent of recent births, among women younger than 20 at the time of these births, are reported as unplanned.

• Among sexually active, never-married women aged 15–19, 77% have an unmet need for contraception, meaning they wish to avoid pregnancy in the next two years but are not using a contraceptive method. Unmet need for contraception is similarly high among those in urban and rural areas (80% and 74%, respectively).

• Nearly one-third of married women aged 15–19 have an unmet need for contraception, and unmet need affects a higher proportion of urban residents than rural residents (41% and 27%, respectively).

• Seventy-five percent of mothers younger than 20 report that their most recent birth occurred at a health facility; a smaller proportion (65%) were attended by a trained professional. Almost all young expectant mothers (97%) report having made one or more antenatal care visits.

SEXUAL HEALTH KNOWLEDGE

• Women aged 15–19 have heard of an average of three modern contraceptive methods.

• One-fifth of women aged 15–24—and only one-tenth of those living in the two poorest wealth quintiles—report that they could get a condom on their own.

• While most Senegalese women are aware that condom use and having one uninfected partner reduce the risk of HIV infection, fewer than one-third (29%) of women aged 15–24 have a comprehensive knowledge of HIV/AIDS, defined as knowing the two HIV-prevention methods mentioned above, knowing that a healthy-looking person can be HIV positive and rejecting two common local misconceptions about HIV transmission.

• The proportion of women aged 15–24 with comprehensive knowledge of HIV/AIDS is higher in urban areas than in rural areas (41% vs. 18%). Among the poorest women, the level of comprehensive knowledge is even lower (10%).


GENDER INEQUALITY AND SOCIAL NORMS

• Three-fourths of women aged 15–19 (72%) believe that if a husband has an STI, his wife is justified in asking him to use a condom. Moreover, 63% agree that a woman is justified in refusing to have sex if she knows that her husband has an STI.

• However, 61% agree that a husband may be justified in hitting his wife in at least one circumstance.

• Just 20% of married women aged 15–19 report having sole or joint (with husband) say in their own health care. This indicates that 80% of these women are not involved at all in decisions about their own sexual and reproductive health care.

POLICY ENVIRONMENT

• The 2005 Law in Relation to Reproductive Health, recognizes reproductive health as a “fundamental and universal right guaranteed to all individuals without discrimination based on age, sex, wealth, religion, race, ethnicity, matrimonial situation or any other situation.”[2]

• There are no legal restrictions on young people’s access to contraceptives and other basic services, such as pregnancy and STI testing, apart from a requirement that one be 15 or older to consent to HIV testing.[2]

• Abortion is legal only to save a woman’s life, and the Penal Code imposes hefty prison and financial penalties. However, many young women resort to illegal abortion services, which often put their health at risk.[2]

POLICY AND PROGRAM IMPLICATIONS

• These data indicate that a large proportion of young Senegalese women have ever had sex and therefore have a need for sexual and reproductive health information and services.

• Young women living in rural areas and those with the fewest financial resources have the least access to information and services and are the most vulnerable to unintended pregnancies and STIs. These groups should be prioritized in efforts to provide sexual and reproductive health information and services.

• Unmet need for contraception is very high among unmarried young women. Action is needed to address underlying factors, including a lack of affordable and accessible health services, stigma surrounding nonmarital sexual activity and lack of agency among young women.

• Evidence on young women’s attitudes about sexual rights and gender equality show the common acceptance of women’s unequal status and treatment. Increased investment is required in rights-based sexual and reproductive health programs and education.

• Most adolescent women likely do not receive any formal sexuality education: Many do not attend secondary school, and many schools likely do not cover this subject.

• Key stakeholders should adopt effective strategies—including school-based sexuality education and forums outside the school system, such as community awareness programs and media campaigns—to reach young women with the information they need to safeguard their sexual and reproductive health and rights.


The majority of the data cited here are from: Anderson R et al., Demystifying Data: A Guide to Using Evidence to Improve Young People’s Sexual Health and Rights, New York: Guttmacher Institute, 2013 and special tabulations of 2010–2011 Demographic and Health Survey data used in that report.





Support for this fact sheet and the report on which it is based was provided, via a subgrant from IPPF, by the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs under the Choices and Opportunities Fund.

REFERENCES

1. United Nations (UN) Department of Economics and Social Affairs, World Population Prospects: The 2012 Revision, New York: UN, 2013.

2. International Planned Parenthood Federation (IPPF) and Coram Children’s Legal Centre, Over-Protected and Under-Served: A Study on Legal Barriers to Young People’s Access to Sexual and Reproductive Health Services in Senegal, London: IPPF, 2014.