Call for Nominations: The Darroch Award for Excellence in Sexual and Reproductive Health Research

Deadline May 15, 2009

The Darroch Award recognizes an emerging leader in the field of sexual and reproductive health, where scientific evidence is essential to guiding the policies and programs of the future. The award honors Jacqueline E. Darroch, Ph.D., whose three decades of directing research exemplifies rigorous and innovative work in this field and commitment to the practical application of research to policy and programs. The award committee asks you to nominate candidates who are emerging as leading researchers in the field and whose work demonstrates these strengths.

The award, offered once every two years, includes a $2,500 prize. This year’s award will be presented in October 2009.

Criteria for the Award

  • The awardee’s work must combine excellence in research with practical application to public policy and programs in the field of sexual and reproductive health.
  • The awardee’s work must demonstrate vision and innovation in methodology, analysis and/or communication of research findings.
  • The awardee’s work must adhere to the highest standards of research methodology and analysis.
  • Participation in the field of sexual and reproductive health in one or more of the following areas is considered an asset: public education, teaching, board service, and/or participation in professional activities.

Award Committee

Nominees will be evaluated by a committee with long-standing relationships to the Institute and the field of sexual and reproductive health: Dr. Darroch; Parfait Eloundou-Enyegue, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Development Sociology, Cornell University; Kirsten Moore, M.P.A., President and CEO of the Reproductive Health Technologies Project; James Trussell, Ph.D., Director of the Office of Population Research, Princeton University; Sharon Camp, Ph.D., President and CEO of the Guttmacher Institute; and Lawrence Finer, Ph.D., Director of Domestic Research at Guttmacher.

Guidelines for Nominations

  • Nominees should be in early to mid career. There is no age or degree requirement.
  • Nominees must have at least five peer-reviewed papers or publications.
  • Nominees may work on either domestic or international issues and may reside in any country.
  • Self-nominations are accepted.
  • Nominators may nominate more than one individual.
  • Multiple nominations may be submitted for a single individual.

The deadline for nominations is May 15, 2009. Nominators should complete the form, which also contains instructions for submission. For more information about the Darroch Award, please contact [email protected].

Source URL: