The Bixby International Leadership Fellowship

The Bixby International Leadership Fellowship was established in 2007 through a grant from the Fred H. Bixby Foundation. The fellowships are awarded to people who have in-depth knowledge in the field of population and reproductive health and who can provide guidance on substantive and methodological areas of the Institute’s international work. Fellows benefit from exposure to Guttmacher’s expert staff and build their knowledge base and experience, particularly by learning more about Guttmacher’s model of integrating rigorous scientific inquiry with advocacy and public education.


Past Fellows

  • 2021–2022: Akanni Akinyemi, Professor of Demography and Social Statistics at Obafemi Awolowo University; and Adesegun Fatusi, Professor of Community Medicine and Public Health, and Vice Chancellor at the University of Medical Sciences, Ondo, Nigeria
  • 2020: Alex Ezeh, Professor of Global Health at Drexel University’s Dornslife School of Public Health
  • 2019: Nohan Arum Romadlona, Project Manager at the University of Indonesia Faculty of Public Health
  • 2018: Easmon Otupiri, Professor and Foundation Dean, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology- School of Public Health, Ghana
  • 2017: Chander Shekhar, Professor, International Institute for Population Sciences (IIPS), India
  • 2016: Patrick Kayembe, Head of the Dept of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, U of Kinshasa School of Public Health, DRC
  • 2015: Estelle Sidze, Associate Research Scientist, African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC), Kenya
  • 2014: Mahesh Puri, Associate Director, Centre for Research on Environment Health and Population Activities (CREHPA), Nepal
  • 2013: Amadou Hassane Sylla, Technical Advisor, Centre de Recherche pour le Développement (CRDH), Senegal
  • 2012: Sabine Musange, Assistant Lecturer, School of Public Health at the National University of Rwanda
  • 2011: Altaf Hossain, Director of the Bangladesh Association for the Prevention of Septic Abortion (BAPSA)
  • 2010: Paulin Basinga, Lecturer and Deputy Director of Research and Consultancies, Department of Reproductive Health, School of Public Health, National University of Rwanda
  • 2009: Idrissa Kabore, Senior Researcher and Director of Demography Program, Institut Superieur des Sciences de la Population/Institute of Science and Population (ISSP), University of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso
  • 2008: Isaac F. Adewole, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • 2007: Fatima Juarez, Professor and Researcher, Center of Demographic, Urban and Environmental Studies, El Colegio de Mexico and Felix Limbani, Program Manager, Youth Net and Counseling-Malawi